Why supplementary polls are delayed, by INEC

Posted by Tony Akowe | 3 months ago

The Nation

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has said supplementary elections in some states will be conducted when the delimitation details of the constituencies involved are available.

Its National Commissioner in charge of Information and Voter Education, Featus Okoye, told The Nation that the commission was determined to conclude the supplementary elections.

The national commissioner said INEC may take a decision on when to conduct the supplementary elections in 13 states on Saturday.

He said: “The commission may take a decision on Saturday on the exact date for the conduct of supplementary elections.

“We must first harvest the delimitation details of all the places where supplementary elections have been indicated. We have elections in Plateau, Imo, Anambra, Kebbi, Adamawa, Sokoto and other places.

 “We are determined to conclude the supplementary elections as soon as possible.“However, we must print the ballot papers for the areas. We must assemble the staff that will run the election. We must engage the transporters to move materials and the staff.

“More importantly, we must put together the funds for the supplementary elections. All these will be possible when the delimitation details are available.”

The states where senatorial elections will hold are: Kebbi (North), Plateau (Central), Yobe (South), Zamfara (Central) and Sokoto (East, North and South).

Also, supplementary elections will hold in two Federal Constituencies in Akwa Ibom (Abak/Etim Ekpo/Ika and Ikono/Ini), Edo (Orhionmwon/Uhunmwode), Imo (Ikeduru/Mbaitoli and Isu/Njaba/Nkwere/Nwangele), Kano (Doguwa/Tudun Wada and Fagge), Kebbi (Arewa/Dandi and Koko/Besse/Maiyoma), Oyo (Ibadan North East/Ibadan South East and Oluyole), Rivers (Gokana/Khana and Port Harcourt II) as well as Zamfara (Gummi/Bukkuyum and Gusau/Tsafe).

Elections will also hold in Taraba (Takum/Donga/Ussa), Kogi (Bassa/Dekina), Jigawa (Gumel/Maigatari/Sule Tankarkar/Gagarawa), Ebonyi (Ezza North/Ishielu), Bayelsa (Southern Ijaw) and Anambra (Igbaru).

Although House Leader Alhassan Ado Doguwa was initially declared winner of the Doguwa/Tudun Wada Federal Constituency of Kano State, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) withdrew the announcement, saying the results were declared under duress.

Source: The Nation


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of NaYournews or any employee thereof.

You may also like...

From Twitter